One of these days, I’m going to have to pull out my old college grammar book and see if this is the correct way to quote a book. Until then, this is what you get.

Just finished reading “Called Out of Darkness” FABULOUS. I would say this is a 5 star biography. Just a few of my favorite quotes from the book:

“In the Christmas picture of Jesus, Joseph, and Mary, the family transcends the age-old cycle of fertility and death. Each figure is there voluntarily, and therefore symbolically, and allegorically.” Amazing. I always sort of viewed the conception of Jesus by the Holy Spirit as something put upon Mary, and Joseph raising this child of his wife’s but not his own as something required of him. But to think that they were active, willing participants in this story – that the volunteered and were honored to be the parents of a human God… that puts a different spin on things.

I also love her use of many different historical references – she researched her own autobiography as well as any fictional book she has written. The only thing missing is a bibliography. I am inspired to read the things she read and see if I can find the same meaning.

